Poets logo

Bake The Pain Away

Tasty Therapy

By Anike AyeniPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Bake The Pain Away
Photo by Jessica Ruscello on Unsplash

Early in the morning and I can't sleep.

My heart and mind are heavy.

No desire to put on a smile today.

Yet it's always expected from me.

Scrolling online to find a distraction

A post catches my eye.

A dessert so sticky and sweet.

I need to give it a try.

The kitchen is quiet.

Morning rays shining through.

I get out measuring cups and bowls,

Motivated to make something new.

Eggs, flour, butter and spices.

The nutty smell of cocoa.

Sugar and butter on the stove,

Melting low and slow.

The dough I made,

I knead it.

Minute after minute,

My hands feel it.

All trayed up and in the oven,

I sit back and wait.

30 minutes on the clock.

Anxious to see the final state.

Next to me,

My phone rings.

Messages begin to pop up on the screen.

Reminds me of all my least favourite things.

I frown and get teary.

Yesterday's memories come flooding back.

Every bad name they called me.

It's enough to make me crack-DING!

My creation is ready,

Mmmm, smells so good.

Will my brother like some?

Yeah, I think he would.

I call him from the living room.

Little cutie is still in his pajamas.

One look at the tin in my hand,

Eyes wide he cheered, "Chocolate babkas!"

This is what I love.

Genuine smiles praising my passion.

This is my is my gift.

And I'm loved the way I am.

I may not be the bravest, prettiest or smartest,

But I don't give a damn.

My brother hugs me and says,

"I love when you're home. After we eat, wanna play?"

I nodded as my chest grew warm.

I can always count on baking the pain away.

love poemssad poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Anike Ayeni

Hello there!

I am the eldest of 4 children. I love games and horror. My family has an adorable pug named Princess Nala. I love to cook and bake. Who knows what I'll post about~

Follow me on Instagram @mama_koolkat!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.