Poets logo

bad transmission

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
6
Photo by henry perks on Unsplash

bombarded from all sides

inside, outside, on the line

I stuck my head in there

and it gets sliced through like a lemon peel

the knife only grazes me, not sharp enough

to cut off the entire head as I’m not Elizabethan Queen

now I’m writhing in spasms

like some Black Mamba that constantly

dares to spit malicious venom

who’s going to be under attack?

it’s always me

as if the immune system was attacking its own body

without a shield to protect me from the worst outcome

‘help me! help me!’ I shout

leaving only small sharp shards of pity

when no one wants to be

next to me

as if everyone wanted to put me in a cage

and observe

always inappropriate reaction

to the scrutinised lack of mercy

there is no right response to this

only regret

that they

don’t know much

even with me around

serving them everything on a plate

too bad

they already have one full

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryinspirational
6

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.