Poets logo

Bad, Bad, Bad

But, Funny

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
5
Bad, Bad, Bad
Photo by Simon Harmer on Unsplash

Sittn’ on a barstool

Listening to the music play

He was acting like a fool

Telling everyone his name

*

A gambler, playing pool

And the stakes were kinda high

His mouth began to drool

When his eyes, locked onto mine

*

He gave a little grin,

as he waved his crisp, green bill

He pulled me into him

And said, “hey, my name is Phil

*

“I like to shoot for money

And I noticed your pair of shoes

The tingle in my gut, was funny

You must join me, in a game of pool”

*

I looked down at my uggs

And, furrowed my brows at him

My shoulders began to shrug

And I said, sure, my name is Jim

*

I used to hang out, in this town

That was, until, one night, in this bar

I ran into a cat named, who called himself, Leroy Brown

And things went a bit, too far

*

He flirted with my girl

While I was outside with my friends

Everybody knew the rule

So, I cleaned the floors with him

*

Then, I dropped my quarter in the jukebox

Pressed the buttons, B, 13

He looked a little shocked

When he learned, that Jim, was me

*

He ran out of the bar

Dropping his hundo on the ground

We all had another round

And cheered, “thank you, Leroy Brown

slam poetryhumor
5

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Hahahahahahhahaha that ending made me laugh so much!

  • I love Jim Croce & his storytelling ways. My roommate at Symphony of the Hills music camp in LaCrosse, Wisconsin the summer following my freshman year of high school introduced me to his music. I've been a fan ever since.

  • Paul Levinson5 months ago

    Good, good, good!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    nice

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.