Poets logo

Back Again

Knowing better doesn't stop the urge to fall again

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
32
Back Again
Photo by Karl Edwards on Unsplash

I shouldn’t be used to

distracted gazes and flat tones,

to forced smiles, unsure fidgeting.

Being surrounded by people

yet still be alone.

Feeling it deep in my bones…

but that shouldn’t be

like coming home.

.

None should know loneliness

like a toxic lover

you just can’t seem shake

.

so why do I?

.

I know better, I do.

The all too familiar feeling

creeps its way under my skin,

poisoning bloodlines, whispering

to the shadows of the mind.

.

Lies. All of it.

.

They aren’t true yet every fiber

of my being craves to believe them

because disappointment is constant,

unlike its positive parallel.

What was it again?

Reassurance?

Happiness?

Always fickle

forever changing…

.

I’m tired of playing this game.

The urge to crawl

into the icy tendrils

of loneliness grows

each day, more comforting

as time continues to tick away

or is that my will to live

to breathe

to exist?

sad poetryheartbreak
32

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

  • Ester2 years ago

    Amazing! I felt each word and it resonated with me!

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Really beautifully written, and such a relatable message.

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    I love how other people have the ability to express your own thoughts and feelings - this piece is no exception.

  • Shane Butcher2 years ago

    Beautifully written, thank you for sharing. I just feel like giving you a hug.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.