Poets logo

Babylon

She's no Mystery...

By Marc PerainoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I'm tired of the Church keeping dragons as pets

I'm tired of the Church with its cavernous dungeons

She plays "Mother of Dragons", thinking dragons can be tamed

She loves being kissed by flames, but

How long until she's consumed?

I'm tired of the Church wearing dragon scales

I'm tired of the Church with its heart of stone

Such a beautiful stone, flawless and cold

Brilliant and lifeless

My soul goes hungry as they feed the dragon

This relic

Kept alive for lack of faith

I'm tired of her beast!

So I'm calling St. George

Let's put on a feast

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Marc Peraino

Short fiction and poetry author in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.