Poets logo

Baby Steps

Til I ring that gong

By Cheyenne HarbisonPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Created in StarryAi

Two steps forward, one step back,

It’s still one step forward, though I lose track.

Baby steps, baby steps, keep trudging along;

Baby steps, baby steps, till I ring that gong.

Lying to you to lie to myself

Cause I don’t wanna dust the cobwebs off that shelf.

Probably need to go to therapy,

Don’t wanna admit that I struggle taking care of me.

Don’t wanna admit, don’t wanna commit

But I have to do something, put on that boxing mitt.

Gotta be open, stop the lies, stop the fears;

Scared to mess it up again, there’s been too many tears.

Shut down, run away, self-destruct, replay

It’s all I've ever known, but I know the cycle must stop someday.

What future will I have? What life could we build?

I just know I won’t find out being this weak-willed.

Baby steps, baby steps, keep trudging along;

Baby steps, baby steps, till I ring that gong.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Cheyenne Harbison

I am 25 years old and living in NC. I've always loved writing about various topics that interest me and sharing with people. For updates on new releases, find me on Instagram at daisydragonflower. Enjoy my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.