Poets logo

Baby

"pretty little baby..."

By GypsyPublished 7 days ago 1 min read

I'm a pretty little baby with my nose held high

Eyes to the sky with a skip in my stride

I'll lure you to my bed and tuck you deep beneath my sheets

I'll buckle down beneath you 'til you can feel me breathe

The night is long, the days are scorched

There are words between us we can't afford

Too expensive to cash in, too sweet to lose

I'm a pretty little baby with dancing shoes

Maybe if you pet me right, I'll arch my back

Lean forward on your stomach and purr like a cat

Tilt my chin upright so I can laugh into space

Then crawl away to my quiet place

A pillow made of fluff lying at your feet

You call me a dog, and I feel beat

I'm a pretty little baby who cries at night

Peel away my surface and guide me right

Take me for a swim in the lagoon on your chest

Bang me like a drum, tell me I did my best

Grab at my hips like they'll save you from the sea

Then come away from the tides with me

Listen to the mountains and how they scream

Help me tie my shoes and remind me to eat

For just a small price I'll be your biggest fan

Follow you around with a marching band

I'm a pretty little baby with a mind like gold

Heavy and rich but useless 'til it's sold

Find me near the rot of the old oak tree

I'll take you in my arms and bury you with me

Feed me a spoonful of honey and comb my hair

Tell me I'm your baby, you ain't going nowhere

love poemssad poetryLimerickBalladart

About the Creator

Gypsy

Just an Appalachian POC speaking in fluent cornbread and giving you a taste of only slightly distasteful nonsense.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    GypsyWritten by Gypsy

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.