Poets logo

Babe

a mother's tale

By Cali LoriaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Babe
Photo by I.am_nah on Unsplash

my children will always be

heirs

to

alcohol

I nursed a bottle

longer

than

my babies

to

my

breast

I could cry

for

those

days I

could

not

walk

the length of the zoo

holding

my small

son's

hand

too underweight

from the

trauma

to

risk

a

single

step

and I could cry

for the

season

I spent

away

from

them

sobering up

a mother-child

under

my

own

mother's

merciful

care

but

baby

it was

here

I learned

the grace

of

that

bond

and it was here

I grew

from

two

feet

tall

to

the highest

peak

when I took

my

last

drink

and I said

sayonara

to

that wasted

woman

of

woe

how I

have

swaddled

myself

inside

sobriety

taken

care

to

nurture

each nighttime

with

storybook

voice

a brave

performance

no longer

an

act

fore

I am

your

mother

child

and darling

we

can

do

hard

things

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cali Loria

Over punctuating, under delivering.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.