Poets logo

Away From You

(100 Day Challenge)

By JPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

As I get back to work & try to make a living,

I can’t help but feel like something is missing.

I find it hard to focus throughout the day,

& even though I’m getting things done all I can tell myself is “You need to focus J”.

But I can’t when you are the only thing that is on my mind,

From Sun Up to Sun Down, when I try to amp up or unwind.

So I finally took to write this,

Because it is you that I miss..

I can’t seem to pull myself away from you,

No matter how far I go or no matter how much I do.

It’s funny because you are the reason why I can do these things,

But you seem to run deep within my soul like venom from a Viper’s fangs.

I guess deep down I don’t want the thoughts to end,

Because I’m afraid if they cease then,

Maybe.. just maybe.. they will fade & never happen again..

So out of fear of being a bother,

I write these words on notebook paper..

& pay my respects to where they are due,

As I try to wrap up this day, sadly Away From You..

surreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

J

Gather around everyone... It's Storytime

& maybe, just maybe, one of these can help you through the day..

- Jacob

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.