Poets logo

Away from Hail

Inside the storm

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I seek shelter from dust,

I cannot breathe when dunes

melt in seconds,

in sighs,

a storm that takes away the pain,

still brings eternal life

to end.

***

Nothing to look up to,

come back,

no home to find

once more,

far from the hail that kills,

I stay inside the blight,

a cave.

***

A word could end this night,

part of the song, you hide,

I heard it once,

twilight,

brought words forgotten for a while,

I knew our song

from the first breath,

I felt it could add life to steps,

make will alive

again,

in time,

this chance

or the next dance

with fate.

***

In trying to forget

I let the words fall deep,

they know not how to swim,

they wish for happy end,

who could make home warm

one more time,

how will the flowers grow

when tenderness hides in a corner,

embraces left in hail,

thunder blooming at will,

empty the soul,

haunted each spirit.

***

I go on looking for the way,

to add light to my voice,

to show you path

of joyful souls,

this storm isn't the end,

this roar

is not the way

to meet the wraiths.

***

Haunting and haunted,

you go dark,

a cave grew in your soul,

you let it melt

the candle,

our song,

turned into whisper

and this time,

you couldn't come back

in twilight,

you didn't know the road,

hidden in sand,

in time.

***

Why do you linger in the clouds,

your place is here,

with moonshine,

a mirror smile waits for your own,

one heart hopes to behold

silver this moonbeam

and your voice,

lace of one ever-lasting soul

deep in the night, you glow,

up and beyond I go,

last chance will bring you back,

to me, to us.

I hold your promise

as the hour calls

to midnight

sunshine.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

Originally published on Poetizer

love poems
1

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.