Poets logo

Awakening Amery

by Hayley Barkla

By Hayley BarklaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Awakening Amery
Photo by Paul Talbot on Unsplash

Peace. Purity. Purpose. Consciousness.

Remember this child.

She’s so perfect. An angel. Look at her.

Don’t do that. Sit there. Be quiet. Perfection. No exception.

Anger. Fury. Fear.

Don’t you love me?

My divinity, my worth, my essence strangled.

Under a blanket of loveless imagery. Loveless intimacy.

Why am I here?

I see things. I feel things. I know things.

They scare me now I am alone.

But they are my truth.

Why can’t you see?

I drown myself. No one will notice. I hide from the biggest force I can; me.

Mastermind of the game. Unaware I am playing.

Who am I?

Rise for air. I see my light. Follow that.

You do remember. Breathe in.

You believe in what?

Dive in. Burrow to the depths of deception, exploitation, manipulation.

Be the hand of the pawn and the queen at your peril.

The power. The pain.

Who have I become?

A breakdown. A breakthrough. Treasured moments of darkness rise up to shine their light.

A glimmer, a sparkle of truth.

The answer lies within.

What was it I treasured so?

A book written at eight, a poem at late.

Uncage yourself. Quickly. Write. Start anew.

Get busy. So much to do.

Reflect, understand, accept, grow.

Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

Stop!

Exhaustion.

Where did all this pain come from?

Seething anger chances profound joy.

Keep on writing. Be still.

And smile. Don’t forget to smile.

Plateaued pause.

Green guarded forest echoes the enchanted winds.

Brilliant blue butterfly dances its own dance.

Whitewashed waves crash from a dolphin’s playground.

How did I not see?

Kaleidoscope eyes open my new heart.

I walk in ruby red shoes. They are magical and open doorways.

The game plays on with sweet descent.

As the hourglass tips, I smile.

I woke up.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Hayley Barkla

I struggle with labels.

I love new discoveries.

I’m ‘meh’ about mainstream.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.