Poets logo

Awake

5:44 on a Sunday morning

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Old Highway 2 Trail near Troy Montana

I don’t want to sleep because

Sleeping leads to dreaming and

My dreams these days…

5:44 on a Sunday morning:

I’ve been up since midnight

Pursuing pointlessness to

A level nearing art.

Missing when it flowed like water:

Inspiration, pouring from my soul,

As easily as if exhaled.

And maybe that’s the source of

Crisis in my dreaming: I can

Remember how the itch would

Hit me hard as nicotine fits.

And writing, poems, anything really

That took some inspiration,

Was like that first, loooooong puff,

Except calming in a way no

Drug, cigarette or other,

Could ever start to touch.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.