Poets logo

Avoiding the Obvious

'In Eclipse' Challenge - No. 3

By Kendall Defoe Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
18
Avoiding the Obvious
Photo by Joel Lee on Unsplash

Eclipse? Right, well that is just one more event to prepare for on a work day...

Could be nice to get out of the building and find a quiet spot to observe it...

Love to see the tourist traps again with all the crowds I expect to be there...

I have not been there in at least...five months (the weather was really nasty this winter:

Permafrost over the boardwalk; chill ripping through our bodies).

So, I will be back there, glasses and all, and wait to see how it goes down.

Everyone has their own reasons for not missing this one. What are mine?

What could be...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryRequest FeedbackProsehumorFirst Draftfact or fictionAcrostic
18

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Imo, eclipses are overrated hahaha. I've never bothered with them before. I'm more of a "If I can see it in a photo, I don't have to see it for real" kinda person hahahhahaha. Loved your Acrostic!

  • Martha Agnes2 months ago

    Nice. Tight. My kind of writing, for sure. I've a question for you. I joined Vocal last fall just to read. I am very much the novice on the site, obviously. Yesterday I submitted a short piece that leaves out more than it tells, of course, and it was rejected for not being long enough. Obviously, I chose the wrong category, not knowing all the rules. Sooooo....it is a 300-word tribute to a friend and Vocal says it needs to be 600 words....I can figure it out --but could probably get there quicker with the benefit of your experience. What should be the category? Je suis perdu! :)

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    I saw the last one in the US, it was lovely, my eyes are weird so I saw it in rainbow colors. Go look and enjoy the excitement for a few moments in time. We don't have much anymore.

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    If it's anything like the ones I've seen, it gradually gets dark and then it gradually gets light. I think that about covers it.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Life has a way of getting in the way of awe. Loved the unconventional approach to your poem and your evocation of the effort required sometimes to overcome the vicissitudes of our daily lives. Question: what are your reasons for not missing this one?

  • Mariann Carroll2 months ago

    It’s a big phenomenon for sure. I look at it as an heavenly message. Most of our stores will be closed for 30 minutes just because of it. I have a perfect view

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    This felt like a pleasant stroll while enjoying some time anticipating the event. I've got my glasses ready, lol.

  • Brenton F2 months ago

    💖 https://youtu.be/Om0jhPkOwhg?si=QdcoVnWUd7cgnLPp

  • angela hepworth2 months ago

    I love your relaxed way of telling the story! Loved the formatting of this one as well

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    I can relate. I didn’t even take care to figure out what time its supposed to happen here and avoid scheduling a meeting. I’m just too tired to care. Maybe I’ll be blown away if I can manage to get my ass outside on time with the special glasses. 🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.