Poets logo

Autumn Orchard

A poem about the closing of a chapter in life

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Autumn Orchard
Photo by Matthew Rumph on Unsplash

Autumn leaves fall in the quietest way

Natural beauty in nature’s decay

Changing season forcing me to reap

Piles of friendship left in a heap

Harvesting all the moments we shared

You never managed to mask that you cared

Fallen Autumn leaves have been raked away

Crisp apples gathered to be sold on the last day

Eyes that touch and hands that never meet

I never knew I’d miss you with every heartbeat

Desire to leave the orchard has faded and cooled

The harvest proved that my heart had been fooled

A shiny red apple hanging from the tallest tree

Delicious and juicy, the price will never be free

Baked and cidered before winter’s serenade

Escaping before I could unpin my grenade

The orchard in autumn was mighty splendid

Apples scattered and the trees left unattended

This poem was orignially posted here.

This poem ties in with this poem......

sad poetry
10

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.