Poets logo

Autumn Falls

Too Sudden for Me

By Graham CookePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
17
From one hill to another - the view off my back deck in the country.

Fall may not be my favourite season; as I find it similar to Spring. Both are very wet seasons here on the lower Pacific rim of British Columbia, Canada. The only difference is that the temperatures fall in the autumn and spring upwards following winter. Hence, the names; I do not know? I like the warm temperature of Summer, the ability to cool myself in many ways, along with the many activities of which I can partake. Winters as well are enjoyed because it's easy to seek warmth inside my home or outside by a fire, as long as the damn rain is kept at bay. I like it when it snow. Well, this now all being said, my introduction complete, let me display to you now my ode to Fall.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Fall does not approach;

Fall is now here.

How is it I know?

Because of the grazing deer?

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

"My" deer, summer grazing - out the kitchen window

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

No; there is more to behold

Much to be seen,

Mother Nature gives many clues,

Beyond the remaining skeeters on the screen.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Looking down into the pasture.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Yes; the obvious is apparent.

Trees changing in colour;

Leaves drop and flutter.

No time to clean the gutter.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I hear the squirrels running rampant;

Witness outdoor spiders in their webs,

All caching food for the coming winter,

Ensuring their hunger never ebbs.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

"George" - my adopted (outdoor) Wolf Spider - spinning his web and collecting food.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

So, as I put my thoughts into prose,

Words inadequate to describe,

This wish for the rest of those,

That do not enjoy the oncoming fall and winter to which others ascribe.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I know it's not just me,

But homeless and unsheltered,

That prefer not these seasons,

Of rain, cold and snow, unfettered.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

About the Author

nature poetry
17

About the Creator

Graham Cooke

Semi-retired contract technical writer, editor and content developer now writing creatively in the genres of adventure, post-apocalyptic and science fiction, and technical gear reviews.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey2 years ago

    Love the fall, and yes spring as well

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic Fall poem!!! Left some love💖😊💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Fall is my absolute favorite time of year where I live! Great nature poem :) I loved that you included your own pictures. It's always fascinating to me to see the view from places around the world.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    I do like Fall, but do not like it's signifying of the upcoming winter cold and ice! Very well done poem, though. :)

  • Nice Autumn Lines

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.