Poets logo

Autistic

A poem on the spectrum

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Autistic
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Am I an alien?

Broken like an antique vase?

Cursed by an ancient oracle?

Damaged goods,

eating up others time

frequently feeling like a burden.

Getting overwhelmed so easily,

hearing things others don’t notice.

I wonder if others minds drift where mind does,

just locked on autopilot in the passengers seat

keeping myself awake on nightmare scenarios of socialization.

Life on the spectrum?

Makes it sound so poetic.

Nothing poetic about it in reality.

Ordinary words jumbled into wordsearches,

piecing then back together in all the wrong ways.

Quiet seems to foreign to me,

Reachable only in my final moments.

Strange thoughts run rampant,

trampling through my solace.

Understanding could save me,

very often people are too heavy with excuses to try.

What’s it like to not have a mind racing like formula one cars?

Xyster my brain from my skull,

yearning to be neurotypical is exhausting.

Zero thoughts must be so much easier than this.

Mental Health
8

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey4 months ago

    well written poem. I Had to ask Alexa the x word

  • Jackie Teeple4 months ago

    Fantastic!!! What a clever use of this style

  • Scott Christenson4 months ago

    Clever! A to x: Why are you missing “y”:? Yeah my mind too is constantly searching for patterns. I think i spent a decade impulsively counting the number of letters in each word to decide if it was an even or odd number😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.