Poets logo

Icarus

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
8
Icarus
Photo by Duncan Sanchez on Unsplash

I am there when they fall from grace,

I helped them build their wings of wax and feather.

I mapped the skies and charted the stars,

I watched for clouds and studied the weather.

I told them exactly where to spread their wings to remain in the sky.

Somehow my words became silly to them,

and they made up their minds about where to fly.

I’m only strong enough to carry myself along,

I cannot carry someone else

who conflated being louder as being strong.

I can only stand and watch them fall from grace,

knowing I gave them the best advice I knew,

and never stepped out of my place.

I helped them find a place in the sunlight,

where it wouldn’t melt their wings.

Yet they flew right to the sun and fell from their flight.

Friendship
8

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I get the helplessness that the voice of the poem feels here.

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Thoughtful and engaging. Well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.