Poets logo

AUTHOR UNKNOWN

Part I

By Victor MendezPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Grace Hilty on Unsplash

11-25-2023

AUTHOR UNKNOWN I

I am a prisoner of this aged husk..

A mirror turned in on itself..

The piercing scream echoes madly,

as frustrated and unbidden...

Drops flow past the inner locks..

And I drown in a veil of darkness.

A poet once said,

"To whom shall I tell?"

I ask the same..

Shall I rail at God,

an entity as far from me as the first bloom of my first love?

Can you not spare a moment?

Or..

Perhaps the piercings of pain I feel are not only my own..

But the mendacity..

Of pretty words..

And pretty flowers..

Lain to rest upon a pyre of unforgiven ash.

You!

and I,

Are a story written long ago..

By authors unknown..

Molded..

By beauty and passion then left on our own!

We are the snowcap on a mountain's peak..

That melts under the pressure of the unrelenting gaze of the sun!

Stories written on the very rock where we stand..

And we are beautiful!

A journey traversing time..

From the first melt,

to a trickle forming a rivulet..

As it chooses its own path to the stream..

We will thunder down the mountain!

In a river of power!

In search of our mate..

Of an ocean..

Mere seconds,

of moments,

of hours,

of years,

of memories,

of fears,

and tears.

There is not a man so mighty..

Or so heartless..

Has not least a one..

If not at the end of his life..

As quick it comes..then..

Surely..

standing at the side of a woman..

Giving birth to his child.

There will be once..

And it will define his humanity..

A love story of beauty and pain,

that is judged in the eye of the beholder..

Else!

There would be but the most mundane existence..

Lacking deviance!

A world of black and white!

Colorless!

Then truly,

the piercing screams would render me mute..

So I thank you for providing me this door..

An escape..

From a cell of my own faults..

And I offer you..

a few words in recompense.

Peace

love poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam Eliza Green5 months ago

    What a moving message! I was taken on a journey. Your words are empowering and also felt deeply personal, relatable. The experience of motion and quickened pace had me so invested in this story. Thank you for sharing! It is beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.