Poets logo

Auburn Debut

An Ode to Self-Realization

By Chloe KiskirasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Be still my heart ever blessed by Demeter

Be still mine eyes by Athena kissed, and with them my caramel lips which Hera covets

West Coast chestnut freckles dance atop my cheekbones

Ambitious freckles backpack the arduous journey- Making camp on the ridge of my nose

I'm convinced they come to life when I sleep and move to different positions for there's no controlling their wild nature

And every man I've ever met finds them, as they've claimed, "perpetually endearing"

The cunning sun in its heist of youth, now trapped beneath olive skin

My auburn hair dares to approach sienna-almond eyes

Poised under lashes, shades of russet, wicker and bronze does the outside world see when they lock eyes with mine

For I am an artist on the brink of her debut.

Struggling with how to conjure the courage

In order to correctly communicate my talent to the rest

And carry the weight too, of how to earn funds or raise pecuniary aid to continue chasing a dream

By the way- Just as Dionysus I possess a proclivity for the daring, lush secrets, a fearless controlled recklessness

All enjoy a bacchanal on a Friday night out with their friends/alliances, but do they comprehend their own psychological motivations?

Focused enough now I turn to healthy outlets instead

I traveled far to create the atelier- The space exuding a clean confidence

An altered satin qipao and two more gowns hang providing a sophisticated exterior

Which will trick you if you're gullible

Resilient succulents, Monstera deliciosa, cascading green life ignorant of the price of rent for the studio apartment in my 20s building...

At least plants are less duplicitous than social media

Umber whiskey in the kitchen, fine apples on display, olive oil pressed in Kalamata, Greece for asparagus, garlic, thyme

Books my professors challenged me to finish, my pointe shoes, the ballet barre, various bagatelles...

I've finally put my roots down, allowed my body rest, and created a home.

My motivation for being here, against all odds, against all I've battled, faced...

The strength it took in that foreign land, to hold my own, stare the dragon in the face

The maturity required in order to acknowledge the emotions, the peace of mind lost

An experience finally lain to rest

And presently, after recent work ethic, my blood, toil, tears and sweat

Within the golden hour, when the auburn twinkles its brightest streaks through my mane,

The flame of my power will reach its zenith of influence.

For you see this belief in myself, my Rock of Gibraltar, is the source of my perseverance.

NASA named the Mars rover well.

I'll send out the Electronic Press Kit.

I'll accept any rejections which follow.

Take the meetings.

Deign to endure or bear the bureaucracy.

Because I know I have a voice and I am finally ready for the timing

Whether divine or not

Of that little 3 year old who jumped out of a cake for her grandmother's 86th birthday

And, after seeing their reactions, feeling the positive effect she could on an audience have

Dedicated her life to the arts, an oeuvre I cannot wait to unveil

And Hermes (through communication he flies) has since then blessed my travels to you now.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.