Poets logo

Attic

A lot like love

By Erman BaradiPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Attic
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

They say the friendzone doesn’t exist

But I kept persisting

Insisted I was the perfect fit

I’m not talking wedding rings

Or making you my misses

Just saying I’d give you everything in this very instant

Go on dates and talk about our interests

Talk about the future over drinks and five star dishes

But you had your eye on someone else

Who kept asking for forgiveness

You don’t see me like I see you

Sometimes I’m invisible

But that’s okay because only you can choose your bliss

So if it’s him you want I’m rooting for your happiness

But I see something that you’ve missed

Maybe you sensed it too but “happy” had you hesitant

Rain or shine, around here it started trickling

Pain and love, looks like he couldn’t tell the difference

I found her in the attic

A needle in her veins

What did it do to you?

What has it put you through?

I found her in the attic

Nothing was left the same

She was hoping for something better

But she was accustomed to the pain

It was the weekend and I tried to rein her in

It was no longer romance

I just wanna save a friend

She gave him another chance

But that’s addiction, isn’t it?

Inches away from death but you’re still itching for it

Too blinded to see others because he was hovering

They weren’t arms to cover you but to smother you

Black and blue, bruised up, now recovering

Out of the hospital and right back to him

But that’s addition, isn’t it?

At first I tried to win you over

But I just wanna see you survive the night

We can talk about “us” another time

But maybe there’s no time for later

What will it take to save her?

A mixture of intervention and Jesus Christ?

In his parked car again

Neighbors hear the arguing

What is it about this dude you keep running back to

But you’re just running laps around the sun

Getting burned at every touch

I’ve almost given up

But then...

I found her in the attic

A needle in her veins

What did it do to you?

What has it put you through?

I found her in the attic

Nothing was left the same

She was hoping for something better

But she was accustomed to the pain

Now you’re two months over him

It says so on your chip

You found your step

And you haven’t rebound or found someone worse than him

And I see that you’re glowing too

I’m two months over you

Sorry if that’s not what you wanna hear

But you had your shot and you kept downing another one or two

It’s finally off your breath

Liquor, percocets, and meth

Hope it’s only sugar in your blood

Hope you find someone sweeter if you haven’t yet

Hope this reached you just in time

So the next few minutes could be ours

May you work on your foundation

And spend more time in the basement

She was no longer in the attic

With a needle in her veins

Scarred by what it did to you

Overcome what it put you through

Long gone from the attic

Nothing was left the same

She finally got something better

That didn’t live off her pain

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Erman Baradi

"To be human is a lesson you'll learn at the very end."

@ermanbaradi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.