Poets logo

At The March

A protest poem

By Elaine Ruth WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
At The March
Photo by Arawark chen on Unsplash

Put down your placard, go home,

they say. I stand my ground.

Where’s home? I say.

In the land of my birth,

where they corral the living,

where sweet saviours weep,

bury skin and bone bundles

someplace no place like home?

.

Pick up your friend, go home,

they say. I hold her soft body.

Where’s home? I say.

In the cold cardboard cities,

under arches and bridges,

on benches, in alleys, in doorways,

or subways, where the lost and alone

share their need for connection?

.

Pay up your fine, go home,

they say. I shoulder my rucksack.

Where’s home? I say.

Where the waters are rising, rains

never come, scorched earth is trembling,

frail buildings fall,

and forests burn fiercer

than a candidate’s rhetoric?

.

Pack up your stall, go home,

they say. I rise to my feet.

Where’s home? I say.

If it’s where the heart is,

then my heart has spoken, fears

being cracked by each liberty taken,

on the streets, in the home,

on the page, in the statute.

.

Play by the rules, go home,

they say. I turn on my shadow.

Whose rules? I say. I'll go home,

where there’s food on the table,

where there’s warmth in the hearth.

But my soul knows its place.

I’ll go home, I say,

but I’ll be back tomorrow.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Elaine Ruth White

Hi. I'm a writer who believes that nothing is wasted! My words have become poems, plays, short stories and novels. My favourite themes are mental health, art and scuba diving. You can follow me on www.words-like-music, Goodreads and Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.