Poets logo

At The End Of The Tunnel

The light always shines. It's always been there.

By Bernie Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
At The End Of The Tunnel
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

There's a light at the end of the tunnel.

In trivial times, the world seems dark; take one false step and you'll get lost. I often feel lost. I often get lost.

But I still walk towards the light.

It's a reminder that I'm still breathing.

I journey through the unknown realms of my own reality. I understand the light.

It's always been there.

I've always been here too, for as long as I can remember.

The light is familiar. Each step I take towards it, I am reminded of why I've started my journey. I wanted to follow the rules. Grow up. Chase dreams like stars in the sky.

I always go back to the light at the end of the tunnel. It comforts me when I need it most.

I first found the light as a spark.

It sat on the keys of a typewriter, unmoving and waiting for a simple push. I was curious. I met the light. I placed my hands on the keys and began to write about the thoughts inside my mind.

Only then, did the light grow brighter.

I found it again the next year, floating by the strings of a harp. I greeted it like an old friend, memorizing the feeling of joy I felt when I saw it. I placed my hands on the strings and played it a song.

The spark grew once more.

The next time I found the light, it was the size of my heart. It shone so bright, I could barely contain my excitement. It sat on the stage of a theatre, waiting to hear me sing.

I sang my heart out for the light.

It grew again.

And again.

And again.

So much so, that it set everything ablaze, and covered me in warmth as I stood there. Smiling. Breathing. Writing my stories, playing my songs, and singing my melodies.

The light taught me how to live.

Whenever I grow weary, I return to the light. It waits for me at the end of the tunnel.

The light is a place I can be myself.

The light is a place where I can love.

The light is everything that makes me who I am, and I am grateful to the light for always being by my side.

Once again, I make it out of the dark tunnel. I feel the warmth again, like sunlight on my skin.

I hold my hand out to the light.

I am home.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Bernie

Life's a mystery, but so are the books I write...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.