Poets logo

at the bottom of the pit

there is silence

By Katie “Quill” S.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

at the bottom of the pit

chains embedded in my skin.

i could’ve sworn

there was friction against bone.

i could’ve sworn

there was blood tracks

instead of shadowed fingers.

there’s a small light

dangling above.

and I scream

scream so loud from this void.

scream so my throat is raw

flint shards scraping my voice.

i scream

until my lungs heave

and my chest twists and pulls

writhing in agony.

i scream

while salted tears flow

cascade down my cheeks

trickling into puddles.

I scream into the light

beg for an answer

plead for anything

maybe I would finally believe

in some type of God

if someone finally heard me.

the light trembled.

it sways.

and it falls.

and it breaks.

and I stare at the shards

the shards of what remained

of a false light

of a false hope

i bore my voice out to.

and I can only stare

as the void closes in

in silence

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Katie “Quill” S.

Known as “Quill” online! I like writing poetry and short stories, as well as fandom works! Thanks for stopping by :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.