Poets logo

At night when you were not there

🌘

By TheSpinstressPublished 6 months ago • 1 min read
4
At night when you were not there
Photo by Roseanna Smith on Unsplash

I read my own writing

watch myself getting madder

on increasingly nonsensical scraps of paper.

My poetry is more inspired

and less coherent; infatuation has ceased

to be devotion, sailed past worship,

descended into tear-stained signs and symbols.

I have put myself on suicide watch

since you are not here to do it for me.

My heart claims

every sound in the drive might be you,

even though I told you not to come

my ears listen for the tap on my window

just old-fashioned enough

to be something you would do if you

came back to love me at last.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

TheSpinstress

New bio in progress :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Š 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.