Poets logo

Aster In The Snow

An ode to my love

By Vic GrantlingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Aster In The Snow
Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

I took a deep breath into the freezing winter air. Walking through the garden, covered in snow, I noticed the death that took over. I stopped in my trail to admire the loss of beauty that was once there. I closed my eyes and imagined what they looked like blooming in June. They seemed more beautiful than usual in my mind. I sat in the snow and stared at them with bliss, but then I opened my eyes and saw it.

So strange, so out of place, a fully bloomed, summer Aster. I stared in amazement. Speechless to the life surrounded by death I suddenly felt warmth in the below freezing temperature that is my surroundings. There I was in the fullest garden I know surrounded by wilted flowers, yet staring face to face with this purple miracle. I was in no hurry to go back where I came or where I was going. I admired the flower for hours upon hours until I no longer could.

Even though it isn’t here I see it. It haunts my passion. I lust for the thought of seeing it. So bright in the dreams full of darkness. I close my eyes and picture the purple glow in the dark, gloominess, of the snowy night. I have to go back… I must go back… that was all I could think to myself…

Running out into the cold below freezing air seemed not to bother me. I rushed to the same spot where I sat for hours in the icy snow in fear it would be gone. I saw it and signed in relief of my irrational fear. I saw it and awed at the infamous glow. I felt myself pulling away, so I reached out for it to save me. It slowly began to come out of the ground roots and all.

I jumped up to find myself still in the snow. I looked down at my near purple fingers. I could no longer feel my body. Standing wasn’t an option. I looked around into the night. I began to shiver as it began to snow again.

I saw the glow even as my eyes grew weak. I tried to speak and beg for the miracle to save me from the peak of death. I tried to reach out for it, but my arm fell limp. I no longer had feeling in any of my limbs. Pl… please… I forced out with what seemed like my last breath. Oddly fear wasn’t with me, instead I felt safe and began to feel warmth once more.

I slowly regained my strength. I forced my still weak arm to reach out again. I signed with relief when my arm made it up to feel the soft cold pedal. I thanked my miracle by stroking the pedal with my thumb. Suddenly the pedal fell and I shed a tear. I slowly sat up in shock.

There goes another… and another. NO, my miracle can’t go… I begged it not to leave me. My safety is wilting away. I begged and begged, but the more I tried the more pedals fell. I stopped as the final four were left. I stopped and took in a deep breath then began to pray.

One… I begged God not to take it away. Two… I broke down in tears begging more. Three I started to wonder how life was and could be without it. Four… I sadly began to walk away trying to accept my loss. Then there it was again… brighter than ever.

I turned around to see it glowing. So full of life, so beautiful, I dropped to my knees. I feared getting close so I stayed away as long as I could. The glow was luring me in… I slowly got close and extended my arm. I signed with relief once my hand reached the pedals and they stayed in tack. I smiled and left only to return tomorrow...

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Vic Grantling

Hi, I'm Vic. I'm non-binary and happily married to the love of my life. I've always loved to write and I just want to learn to be the best writer I can be and maybe someday be a pro.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.