Poets logo

Ask Me In December

For Babs Iverson's Prompt and Challenge

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
12
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

This is for Babs Iverson's "Ask Me In December" challenge which you can read about here

When we talked about it, I said the flow and sound of the words reminded me of "Gone Till November" by Wyclef Jean which I will use to soundtrack this. It is a wonderful song.

Ask Me In December

❓❌❓✔️❓

Really Can't Say, Ask Me In December

Your Questions Confuse Me, Just Can't Recall

My Mind Is A Blank, Just Can't Remember

Got So Much To Do, Will Take Forever

Will I Have Any Time For You At All?

Really Can't Say, Ask Me In December

Gotta Stock Up With Feed And Provender

It Is Spring Now, Then It's Summer And Fall

My Mind Is A Blank, Just Can't Remember

By The Brazier, Watching The Embers

Don't Ask Me Yet, But Maybe You Can Call

Really Can't Say, Ask Me In December

My Head Is Banging, I Feel So Tender

At The Moment I Can Do Nowt At All

My Mind Is A Blank, Just Can't Remember

Maybe Text Me October, November

You Could Make It Sometime Just After Fall

Really Can't Say, Ask Me In December

My Mind Is A Blank, Just Can't Remember

❓❌❓✔️❓

Villanelle
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.10 days ago

    I feel like I relate so much to this poem -- I usually never have an answer for things. 😅 I really love how you crafted this one!

  • Rasma Raisters12 days ago

    Most creative. Like a flowing song. Loved this,

  • Oooo, I loved your take on Babs challenge! Fantastic Villanelle!

  • Chloe Gilholy13 days ago

    This was a great villanelle, flowed wonderfully.

  • Okay, Mike! Enjoyed the music too😉💕❤️

  • Lana V Lynx13 days ago

    Very nice, Mike.

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Wonderful absolutely wonderful!!! Love you, Villanelle poem!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.