Poets logo

As I Remember You

A tragic, romantic villanelle.

By ApogeePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Tubarones Photography - Pexels Images

You are gone now, but I remember how it used to be.

And even though you are gone now, I remember still.

How I laid my eyes on you, and you were all I could see.

/

Remember New Orleans at a quarter past three?

You remember the place, with the open-air grill?

You are gone now, but I remember how it used to be.

/

How I laid my eyes on you, and you were all I could see

And I think of you, of the days before you became ill.

How I laid my eyes on you, and you were all I could see.

/

I’d never seen someone so cheerful to such a degree.

Your smile brightened my world, it was you special skill.

You are gone now, but I remember how it used to be.

/

I remember your laugh; how your face lit up with glee.

Even if no one else remembers your heart, I still will,

How I laid my eyes on you, and you were all I could see.

/

Remember our favorite hike, by our favorite tree?

Often, not knowing how to move on - you give me the will.

You are gone now, but I remember how it used to be -

How I laid my eyes on you, and you were all I could see.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Apogee

Thanks for checking out my bio! What can I say? If you have read some of my work, I hope you liked it. Likewise, I relish the opportunity to discover some of the beautiful work done by my fellow writers. You guys are awesome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.