Poets logo

As I am

I miss you

By Quentin woodardPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
As I am
Photo by Artem Sapegin on Unsplash

Time for me has been slow

it has come to a point most days

and in the midst of it all

I know what pulls at my heart

I can't share my joys with you

nor my fears as I have many

it is a feeling of uneasy grief

and it never leaves my spirit

The only thing that keeps me going is Love

the love of my wife and daughters

whom when you are asked about I choke up

and once again my heart fails me

I can't speak the words only hold back emotions

with those emotions I let my love speak for me

and the only thing that plays in my mind

is I miss you

I know you'd want me happy

I know that I selfishly hold you tight as if you are here

but what is your son to do with this pain

but bandage the wounds and keep pushing through

You left too soon is all I can think

and in the midst of that all my brothers and sisters know this to be true

That it hurts everyday knowing we cant even speak to you

and so here I am and here they are trying to hold on to a shaky happiness

But I do it mom everyday, fight to remember your love

fight to hold on to a broken me

even when I know till this day I am missing a piece of myself

ill do it for you and never stop missing you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Quentin woodard

I am the Poetic Lyricist. I am a Poet, father of twins, and Husband to a loving Wife. My words come from my experiences, some from inspiration, and more from what I see on a daily. Welcome to me and be inspired. IG:poeticlyricist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.