Poets logo

As April Rains

A Love Poem

By Mae H.Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
As April Rains
Photo by Ani Kolleshi on Unsplash

I love you as April rains;

a few drops to begin

are a glance to you.

Such intent to deliver

a swell of life

to the blossoming heat that

enraptures me.

To ponder winter

is to never leave it behind,

a memory tossed

to toiling a cold

not meant to depart

Oh! But I love you as April rains;

a thaw to awaken

and I am awoken

by a glance to you.

You are a stone tossed

to a swollen stream:

I am swept away; I am drowned;

I am lost to you

from but a glance to you

I love you as April rains –

to a shriveled earth

frozen and barren

and free of life –

I am starved for you,

emaciated without a glance to you.

How is the earth to survive

without rain?

As I am to live

without

you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mae H.

I am an avid reader, a creative cook, and a hater of biography-writing. I'm here trying to get back to the one thing that has always been life-giving to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.