Poets logo

Artist's Date

Taking advice from Julia Cameron

By Laura ManipuraPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Chocolate Brownie Cake Oozing Deliciousness: Nirvana Cafe

Your wicked eyes dancing,

with sweet light gently oozing,

my wild heart sang

dreaming of your fertile lips.

I had a difficult week, trying to juggle studying and writing, my days spent alone in front of a computer. I took on two new cleaning jobs balancing the must do with the I want to do, but lacking fire and joy, creativity stale.

My heart heavy, as ravenous she opened me,

I honestly tried,

but life was gleeful torture.

This brownie cake face-book photo caught my eyes and so I wandered into the local cafe. A fresh new scene inspired me to a take out a set of Haikubes sitting on the table.

Desperate to consume,

her dripping flesh whispers promises;

please sweet angel.

Julia Cameron in “The Artist’s Way” says that one should go on a artist’s date once a week. Go alone, some place new, and open to the unexpected.

Her moonlight ritual,

with peace she sang,

her precious baby dead.

Back home, my fullness wants to explode. I lie on the bed weakly petting the cat; waiting for it to pass.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.