Poets logo

Around 4

The Night Air

By Kimm SmithPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Unsplash

The night air rolls in around 4 and I wake up to the dream that was day

The time when I itch for something worthwhile to do

Now it's over and I can just be me again

Loving the night sky

Revering the stars

Each expecting nothing of me

But brown ciggies and a glass of wine

The night air pours in around 4

When breezes transform into heavy winds and I cringe at the chill of the dark while falling in love at the same time

I connect with the moon and sing silent prayers that everyone I love will be fine

And I sing to mother moon about our love affair when it's all ragged and torn up down here, where we live is perfect bliss

The night air pushes its way in around 4 and I wrap myself in it's silence hoping to be restored to face another day of goals and expectation

I hold on to the night like a desperate lover who is ignoring the need to let go when morning creeps it's way in

You see daytime creeps like a married desperato while nighttime boldly struts it's way in like a sure fire lover

It is around 4 and I feel the night air kissing the back of my neck

Hello lover

Hello first love

Hello my champion

Hello to the night

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kimm Smith

I am. The art and the artist. Expansive always seeking to learn. I write, sing, counsel, make things, read Tarot and oracle. Make my own cards. I make, I create but mostly I'm me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.