Poets logo

Arguing With God

An unalienating and non-divisive limerick featuring a religious character who happens to be God.

By J. DanielsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Arguing With God
Photo by Cédric Frixon on Unsplash

Arguing With God

There was a young man who said God,

It seems you’re an unconscionable fraud.

For you bay me improve,

But if I don’t, you reprove

Yet the one who designed me was God!

***

Young man, you accuse me of doing my job.

For designing a contemptible slob.

But had I not made you so

You’d have no room to grow,

And have nothing to do but sob!

***

But God, how can the flawed become flawless,

When everything they do is so lawless?

Wouldn’t it be better

To run about unfettered,

Instead of burning in hell without solace?

***

My boy, don’t confuse perfecting with hell.

It takes some time to come out of your shell.

But to tear off your mask,

All you need is ask.

This secret I’m oh so happy to tell!

***

Now wait just a moment, I say!

I would like some more time to play.

For eternity is long

And if I don’t play along

I’ll have nothing to do all day!

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

J. Daniels

I am he who dwells within the burning house.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins2 years ago

    Love the interaction in this piece. I've felt this and came to the same conclusion. If God were to solve all our problems, we'd have nothing to do.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.