Poets logo

Area 51

Oh, You've Seen It Before?

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 9 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
12
Area 51
Photo by Tyson Moultrie on Unsplash

Driving down the road, one night

when something eerie caught my eye

Checking to see if everything was alright

I pulled my car off, and stopped, to the side

👾

The sky seemed to have a glowing mist

the air vibrated and slightly hummed

I heard whispers saying, "they really exist"

and from out of nowhere this little guy bummed...

👽

a cigarette, from out of my backpack

though I still don't know just how, he got it

It was strapped to my back and he never asked

but there it was, hanging from his lip - lit

🛸

I asked him, "hey, where did you come from?"

he smiled, and spoke without using words

"Oh, from up in Spokane, yeah, I've been there."

or at least, that's what I thought that I heard.

👽

I asked him if he wanted a ride

I could see that he must have been walking

He said sure and he jumped up inside

I felt bad, cause I did all the talking

👾

37°14′0″N 115°48′30″W, displayed on the GPS screen

I sensed he asked, is this 51?

I said, "yeah, you want to go there with me?"

he relayed to me, that's why he'd come.

👽

I said, "I'd like to show it to you," (swatting flies) -

I continued, "I've read about it and thought it was crap."

He opened my glovebox and to my surprise

from out of nowhere, he pulled out a map

👾

I said hesitantly, "I'm sensing what I'm saying right now,"

"Are things that you have heard before?"

He popped a reese's pieces, into his mouth

said, that's right bitch, get down on the floor

🛸

Before I could react, the car filled up with lights

and I was transported, like livestock, through a portal

the things that they did to me, until late in the night

reminded me that I was mere mortal

🛸

So, the first time that I met an alien

he was the one who showed ME around

And if he comes back to earth again

I'll keep driving, with my eyes to the ground

humor
12

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Kelli, This is fabulous!!! Yep the Reese's loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mark Graham9 months ago

    One for Ripley's Believe it or not.

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    I hope this win ♥️

  • Hahahahahahahahaha okay this was hilarious! He showed you around! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • I loved the E.T. reference--Reese's pieces (boy, did M&Ms miss out on an opportunity there, lol). Fun poem, Kelli.

  • Great job 😮👽❤️😉📝

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    So, I'm reading all these fun (mostly) stories from Kelli about aliens and wondering why. Then, the little light comes on. This challenge might be tempting enough.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.