Poets logo

Are You Mad Now?

A Poem

By Alana SticklesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Are You Mad Now?
Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

I wish I could find the strength to leave you behind

But your ever-present effervescence is leaving me blind

To your cruelty

You've made a fool of me

Are you happy now

That I'm gone?

When the sun shines

On your empty broken shrine

Think on what you left to rot

What I gave and never got

Are you glad now

That I moved on?

Did you think I'd let you so easily forget

The way you tossed me down toward loveless regret

And left me to suffer in your heavy silence

Or shove me into wretched abidance

Are you sad now

That I'm not coming back?

I don't have the words to say how I feel

But I hope you never heal

From the scars, you gave to me

Because you never left me be

Are you mad now

That I finally gave up on you?

heartbreak

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alana SticklesWritten by Alana Stickles

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.