Poets logo

'Are You Listening?'

What I'm thinking of when my mind starts to wander. (It happens more than you think.)

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
'Are You Listening?'
Photo by Edu Lauton on Unsplash

Dancing around in my head are thoughts louder than you are right now,

Incessant strings of words, deafening my ears

So it appears I am listening, when

Truly I am just conveniently staring in your direction and occasionally nodding.

Right now, I am thinking of what is for dinner when lunch isn't even here yet,

And if you know this really bad dad joke:

'Clouds, what do you wear under your shorts?'

The answer is thunder-pants by the way, and

I've never noticed how yellow that wall is on Main Street

'Oh my god, are you even listening?!'

No. Not really. Sorry.

performance poetrysocial commentaryhumor
3

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis12 months ago

    Lol, the yellow wall on Main Street. I don’t know why, but I I found that very funny. 😂

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Great work! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.