Poets logo

Are You Aware I Love You

You stole my innocence

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Are You Aware I Love You
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

Are you aware of how much I honestly loved you

Did you ever realise how much I truly cared,

Would you believe that I still remember vividly

All the glorious love and happiness we shared?

***

We had so much fun on those summer days

Then day turned to night, darkness took its place,

We’d say goodnight and leave each other’s arms

But I still had the happy memories of your face.

***

Sadly though, this has no happily ever after

Not a fairytale, for it didn’t all come true,

I still fight, on a daily basis, to stem my tears

From the hurt and pain I received from you.

***

There are times I dream that you came back

And I’d picture that it was in your arms I lay,

But I had to say goodbye to the innocence I had

As it was destroyed with you that fateful day.

***

There were nights where we made love

And the love and happiness was real,

My heart was almost bursting at the seams

My emotions and joy all that I could feel.

***

But then you proceeded to break my heart

And I could only beg you to be more kind,

As your words completely shattered me

Destroying both my heart and my mind.

***

As much as I try not to think of you, I still do

And I notice my thoughts and emotions turn black,

On these days I sometimes get my hopes up

And I dream and pray you will come back.

************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.