Poets logo

Are you a temporary smile?

When something new may be starting

By Lucy PerrinPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Jon Ly on Unsplash

It’s been three hours since we got off the phone.

Don’t think I’ve ever felt so high,

Whilst simultaneously feeling so alone.

I don’t know you; I won’t pretend to.

Let’s not imagine this is what it’s not.

But in one conversation my worlds a little askew.

You’re funny, you genuinely made me laugh.

And in a world full of anxiety and fear,

I wander if I’m finding my path.

Breathe, for fuck sake whats got in to me!

It’s only been a few hours,

I need to just leave it be.

You don’t have to fall in love,

Not on the first day,

This emotion you’re stuck in a habit of.

This could be a temporary smile,

So even if that's all it is,

Thanks for making me smile for a while.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lucy Perrin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.