Poets logo

April's Pain

Excerpt from 'Wasted Love'

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
6
April's Pain
Photo by Lucas George Wendt on Unsplash

Spring arrived

Holding hope’s hand

Introducing me to you

The you that suddenly

Looked so different to

The you I’d been friends with

Just the day before

September smiled at me

And I smiled back

Thinking it held happiness

Thinking it could hand me

Your heart

And when November came

You caught the first strong breeze

Slipping away like a dandelion

And still I kept holding out my hand

And wishing and wishing and wishing

And in December I saw

Christmas lights all around me

But I didn’t see you here

Only in my dreams and faded memories

When I woke up to January knocking at my door

The months walked past me

Leaving footprints behind

Even when you didn’t

Even when you only left

Trails of blood

And now I am wrapped

In April’s pain

Shedding invisible tears

That look like you

I wish Spring would’ve

Arrived without you

❀❀❀❀❀

Please check out more of my poems:

excerptsheartbreaklove poemssad poetry
6

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Chloë J.8 months ago

    “wrapped in April’s pain-“ love that phrase! love this poem! absolutely beautiful 💕💕

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    OMG, these last two lines! They hit me really hard. It's a superb poem, Poppy!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.