Poets logo

Apple Water

A compound haiku about the emotional elements of kindergarten. 🎨🧸

By Gina C.Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
22
Image created with Midjourney

Finger-painted Earths;

papier-mâché trees; like bees -

we buzz; stir with ease.

*

Tears become rivers

staining rosy cheeks; we drink

apple-water peace.

*

Warm flames embrace my

tattered heart & space; I’m burnt

yet cured in this place.

*

Laughter fills the air

as kindergarteners chase

seagulls everywhere.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

Taken of my class several years ago. ❤️

Author's Note: I didn't think I'd love this one as much as I do. 🥹 I'm a kindergarten teacher, and this haiku is about the emotional ups and downs of teaching young children. ❤️

Teaching is an incredibly challenging and demanding job that wears me out yet simultaneously gives me purpose. We cry, we laugh, we shout, we smile, we fight and apologize. And, apple juice always makes everything better. :)

If you liked this compound haiku about the four elements, you might also like this one:

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

inspirational
22

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme

Follow my Ghosts of Relationships' Past series:)

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Loved it. I just saw this on Vocal+Assist for the "letter of the day post." Teaching takes a lot of patience, I respect that. I bet your students love their teacher. Great Haiku!

  • Kali Mailhotabout a year ago

    Aw, the emotional whimsy of kindergarteners ❤️ I really enjoyed this. It felt like a world we can all connect to with our early memories. Great entry Gina!

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    I absolutely * adore * this one. It's true, there is so much magic and discovery that happens in a classroom. It's like the saying goes, "Everything you need to know, you learned in kindergarten." ❤️ Fantastic piece!

  • Faith Lovellabout a year ago

    Ah this one is also so lovely! A beautiful reminder of how magical everything is when we are children, and how raw our emotions are as we haven’t yet gained defences… I could envision everything you described. Wonderful !

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    Oh, I love this one! Beautifully captures the frenzy and fun of that age. And the elements are woven in so creatively and beautifully.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Beautiful. Well done.

  • Ahh, it's beautiful. You captured the essence of children perfectly.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Beautiful!!!💕💖😊

  • Apple water peace and I'm burnt yet cured in this place. Loved those lines! This Haiku was so beautiful and I could feel all those emotions you've described!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    This was such a peaceful and calm poem

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Love this! 🥰

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Super sweet! I loved it! 😊

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    I absolutely love this!!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, heartwarming. I read this with a smile. Well done.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I felt all of this! Teaching young children is such a great joy but also very draining. I loved the simplistic joy in your words. I helped start a preschool when my youngest was just a toddler and ended up working there for 10 years. I retired right before COVID hit, and I miss seeing those sweet faces every day. A heartwarming, lovely entry :)

  • Bugsy Wattsabout a year ago

    I thoroughly enjoyed this and the image takes it over the top!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.