Poets logo

Apple Fritters Anonymous

Eating My Feelings. Volume One. Donuts.

By Lena FolkertPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
Created by author using Wombo Dream Ai.

~~Dear Apple Fritter,

Why must you be

so delightfully,

sinfully perfect?

Your icing so crunchy,

so perfectly sweet.

But not too sweet.

Those soft

little chunks

of granny smiths

give you just the right

touch of tartness.

You know,

there are days

I don’t even think of you.

I don’t care

that you’re still one

of life’s little

affordabilities.

Oh, but then,

there’s days like this.

When even the sun

lacked the strength

to rise

to its full height.

When the clouds

Seem to follow me

Everywhere

I force myself to go.

On days like these,

you’re all I think about.

On a plate,

I toast you up just right.

With a big glass of milk,

or perhaps,

an even bigger cup of Joe…

I savor your sweetness,

your gooey perfection

made of dough so dense

and buttery cinnamon.

My tongue craves you

more than my lover’s

soft kisses.

One bite in,

and I feel it—

the release—

Of stress.

Of fear.

My mouth waters.

My mind relaxes.

I close my eyes,

and savor

the perfection of flavor.

And with the last bite,

I sigh

with contentment,

with relief.

At least,

until I open my eyes

and see the truth

right in front of me.

No problems solved.

No anxieties removed.

Only another

wasted calorie.

Another year

of bad health,

or maybe just

one year less

overall.

At the end,

of this binge,

I feel

bloated and weak,

nauseous and full

of loathesome detest

for myself

and this anxiety-ridden life

where I find comfort

in so little

as much as I do

in just a taste

of sugar.

~~Me.

(AFA - Apple Fritters Anonymous)

performance poetry
8

About the Creator

Lena Folkert

Alaskan Grown Freelance Writer 🤍 Lover of Prose

Former Deckhand & Barista 🤍 Always a Pleaser & Eggshell-Walker

Lifelong Animal Lover & Whisperer 🤍 Ever the Student & Seeker

Traveler 🤍 Dreamer 🤍 Wanderer

Happily Lost 🤍 Luckily in Love

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Mmm 😋 I agree we can’t keep trying to eat our feelings away… 🍫🍩🧁🎂🍿🍟🥟🍘🥨🫒so now I only eat when I’m watching something on TV 📺

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Shhhhh! No regrets! Enjoy the fritters!

  • You love your apple fritters, gorgeously tasty challenge entry

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This is mouth watering poetry, I don’t feel guilty. Enjoy Dear Apple Fritter, perfect for breakfast. I love how you end the poem . Excellent poem , love it ❤️🥰

  • Fortunately for me, at the tender young age of 63, before I even finish one apple fritter I begin to feel slightly nauseous. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to stop me. So now at the age of 63, the only horizons that seem to be expanding for me are my waistline, lol! Absolutely delightful & so true to life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.