Poets logo

Apparent

To Be a Mom, To Be a Dad

By Erman BaradiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Apparent
Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

Sorry mama I only have minutes to spare

And the connection is cutting off fast

I say I’m doing “fine”

You know what that means half the time

And you wonder when I’m coming back

I met a few girls who could never love me

But that’s okay, just part of living in LA

I guess I wasn’t built for that

I hear everyone is cheering me on

I’ve been here for so long

I just pray that I meant to last

I see your hair graying, sorry it’s taking so long to make it

That’s just part of the game

Tomorrow could finally be my time

So I’ll have to suck it up and stay

Sorry dad, I just got the call

Career is picking up like I planned

Let me dial you around nine eastern time

And we can try catching up then

I apologize, I got pulled into work

Can we try tomorrow again?

Did you get the last check that I had sent?

Let’s chat in the A.M.

To be loving, to be cautious

Even when you know it’s scary

To be a mom, to be a dad

It’s so apparent

All those things you said at sixteen

Now I know what they mean

Your words are running through my head

Your love is inherent, it’s become apparent

Give me a day to call back again

Give me some time to come back again

I wish grandma and grandpa were here

To see me change the world

It took my 20’s, slowly and steady

And all the money I could afford to spend

I’ve been counting my pennies

Got the package you sent me

And yes, I covered this month’s rent

Don’t worry about me

How’s living without me?

Give me a few months to visit again

Sorry mom, still working to get you that mansion

I just need time, maybe a couple of years

Sorry mom, I know you want grandkids

I just need time to fall in love here

Sorry dad, give me some time

And I promise to pay off the house

Things are taking off, what we prayed for this long

Even if it isn’t right now

To be loving, to be weary

All the weight that you carried

To be a mom, to be a dad

It’s so apparent

All those things you said before you saw me go

To ensure I was safe and continued to grow

Your blood is running through my veins

Your love is inherent, it’s become apparent

All I’ve ever needed to know

For when I have children of own

Sorry mama I only have minutes to spare

And the connection is cutting off fast

I'm working on something amazing

And I'm hoping it will last

I met a few girls who've loved me

They come and go as you know

But I've gotten used to that

I hear everyone cheering me on

And I’ve been here for so long

I just pray that I meant to last

Sorry dad, I just got the call

Career is going as I planned

Let me dial you around nine eastern time

And we can try catching up then

I apologize, I got pulled into work

Can we try tomorrow again?

Did you get the last check that I had sent?

I have another coming in the A.M.

To be loving, to be weary

All the weight that you carried

To be a mom, to be a dad

It’s so apparent

To be loving, to be weary

All the weight that you carried

To be a mom, to be a dad

It’s so apparent

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Erman Baradi

"To be human is a lesson you'll learn at the very end."

@ermanbaradi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.