Poets logo

Apologies to My Inner Child

Healing Past Trauma with Love and Compassion

By Una SavagePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Apologies to My Inner Child
Photo by Nuno Alberto on Unsplash

Dear Little One,

I hope this letter finds you well

And that it brings some peace to dwell

Within the depths of your heart and soul

For I know your journey has taken a toll

I want to say that I am sorry

For all the times I did not see

The pain and hurt you were going through

And the fear that you held onto

You deserved so much more

Than the scars and wounds you bore

But I promise you this, my dear

That from this day forward, I am here

To hold you close and keep you safe

And give you the love and care you crave

For you are precious, you are divine

And your light will always shine

Please forgive me for my past mistakes

And know that my love for you never fades

I am committed to your healing and growth

And to helping you reclaim your hope

With love and compassion,

Your older self

performance poetrysurreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Una Savage

I'm Una Savage. I love reading and writing, and I enjoy traveling. Most importantly, I'm the mother of an autistic child which is both challenging and rewarding, and it has taught me a great deal about life and myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.