Poets logo

Aphrodite's Promise

A Poem for Indulgence, Comfort & Beauty

By Wonita Gallagher-KrugerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

The First Truth - On Songs of Sirens / On Brocken Anatomical Hearts and Raging Hellfire

My thoughts are made of Sun,

My bones are made of Moonshine,

My magnum opus is my Heart Soul

But my Heart is withered, rotten like the Apple's Core.

I lost Love to Lilith's lullabies,

She clipped my feathered Wings

and Left me a Silent Dove

And in that Drudgery i forgot the World is my Haven

A place to drink Salvation in an apocalyptic Void

Where Misery is drowned in Melodies

And i can sing through a Brocken Anatomical Heart,

a Song of Sirens, of Secrets Serenity

The Second Truth - An Oracle's Ode On / Riches and Reverence

When did you notice the hollowness of your chest?

How did you mend it?

The movies tell you to douse your sorrows in opulence

Drape Hedonism like Pearls from your neck

Live in luxury, in Comfort

The movies tell you the world is an oyster to explore and devour . . . discover

So sail the Oceans Chest at your leisure and cover your Skin in Sea-Foam Silk

Days are endless and fill the void with delicate frails

The movies tell you, drown the Heartache in Precious liquor and September kisses,

Make your home a cacoon makeshift Velveteen Drapes and opalescence to glory hide in

But the Movies don't tell you the truth,

i found pithy riches don't nourish the soul

it leaves a stale taste in my the mouth,

like Rotten Rose-buds

You can’t fill a broken Heart with Coinage,

It falls through the cracks in your Veins,

Like Plunging Stars

The Third Truth - Nature Nourishes / Why All Divine Things are Free

I found in the Belly of Despair that

Everything that comforts me is on the ground,

The Swallow's Song, and sun aglow,

Swan Necks, and flowering water lilies,

Salvation Speaks through music, poetry and prose

It drips like honey from sugared pomegranates and wine,

God-sent Ambrosia comes from the earth,

Wild berries and Forget-me not Plums

I feel Divine when I dance in the Moonlight,

When I run feral, barefoot in the Endless Sands

Pleasure is found in 5 AM Epiphanies and the lustre of falling stars,

In the wilderness of thrush trilling and bubbling brooks,

the Sacredness of a bird’s first song,

Serenity is felt gently through the Shimmering Rain, a cleansing

A butterfly on my milky palm, annexes heaving from a long, lived day,

And i can forget about purgatory and Dante's Inferno, that lives in my memories endlessly,

like flowers of venom.

Because my dreams are Bonefide Magic.

The Only Truth - Aphrodite's Promise / A Note On Comfort, Solace and Belle Beauty

The Gods still visit me in Dreams

Aphrodite still talks to me in Secrecy.

Her words dapple my mind in Femme Fatale beauty

her knowledge like Cotton Comfort through cold, winter nights

I am Aphrodite's promise

I promise you the world,

Is beautiful.

love poemsnature poetrysad poetryart
1

About the Creator

Wonita Gallagher-Kruger

Hello,

I write Little Stories and Film Reviews. Please join me on my writing crusade. IG: wonita.gallagher.kruger

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.