Poets logo

Apart

A sestina for a LDR

By periwinkle_poetPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Apart
Photo by Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

Even in the midst of your absence

my mind grows an open space

to envision my life with you and will

my way right into your presence

and I wish you were an asshole

but that just isn’t true

*

I don’t doubt how true

our love is in your absence

if only you were an asshole

I would want this kind of space

and be indifferent to your presence

So, what I can and will

*

do is give myself the will

to live a life that is true

to my heart in your presence

and that the reality of absence

has nothing to do with space

and everything to do with assholes

*

who even in my presence

just can’t help but be assholes

but if you convince me absence

makes the heart grow fonder will

you also convince me it’s true

that soon we’ll live in a space

*

together and can this space

be full of timeless presents

that will make us stay true

to ourselves and not be assholes

to each other and we will

make sure to never let absence

*

determine how much space

we need in each other’s presence

because sometimes it’s true

that sometimes we’re both assholes

so is that something you are willing

to do when we no longer have absence

*

between us but the thing is that absence

alone isn’t cutting it because how will

I know I’m the love of your life just not an asshole

love poems

About the Creator

periwinkle_poet

Poems by a dark, sweet, and semi romantic Latina, all in one 😊 I'm finally sharing with you what I've been keeping to myself. I hope you enjoy!

If you like what you read, you can buy me a coffee! https://www.buymeacoffee.com/periwinkle_poet

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    periwinkle_poetWritten by periwinkle_poet

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.