Poets logo

Anxiety

Dream Escape

By Jamie L. GonzalezPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Anxiety
Photo by Илья Мельниченко on Unsplash

I sigh,

no amount of breath fills my lungs quite enough,

no amount of tears will sate the pain,

pain that cripples the mind,

a mind that can't interpret meaning,

just feels everything.

Everything shudders ,

all the movement in the stillness of my body,

the stillness, the quiet hurts more than the intrusive thoughts;

the thoughts that flood my dreams,

my dreams only tell stories of escape,

an escape that is just out of reach when i wake.

I'd rather sleep,

soak in the lies,

bask in the beauty of the unobtainable.

Here it is safe and in the dark there is relief.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.