Poets logo

Anxiety and me

It started when I was 23

By Kalina BethanyPublished about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Anxiety and me
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

I'm feeling anxious...

Life doesn't seem to stop revolving

around this unidentifiable source,

this dream,

not even for a second

so I can breathe.

The only breaks I seem to receive

are when I'm scarfing down a meal,

sitting on the toilet

or laying down before retiring for sleep;

Half dozing off but fighting the urge

to succumb to this drowsiness,

all so I can indulge in my hobbies and joys

for at least a few minutes,

a couple seconds at least

before falling asleep.

Sad how it seems

that happiness

is the thing that suffers the most

if other items to-do don't go

as I strongly hoped.

Work has also been causing panic and worry

due to the heavy workload

and unrealistic expectations.

I'm not used to drowning in so much scurry,

bombarded by urgent chats and exchanges,

filling up my cup well over the brim,

and into the pool of water

forming well below me.

It's contagious; not courageous.

No one seems to hear my internal cries,

they only add on more screams,

more whines.

I need to do what I am capable of

and lower expectations.

I don't receive that of which I'm providing

and the time I've dedicated is worth more

than feeling like I'm constantly dying.

Take your breaks.

Plan your days.

Pawn off tasks.

Express your needs.

But don't ever give up;

Stay in the Game.

~

Copyright © 2023 Kalina Bethany. All rights reserved.

Thanks for reading this short bit about the anxieties I've been feeling in life lately.

Appreciate you subscribing using the button below and also checking out some of my other work! It's free to subscribe and the support is sincerely appreciated!!

sad poetryinspirationalfact or fictionHumanityWorkplaceBad habits
2

About the Creator

Kalina Bethany

[she/her]

Constantly seeking new adventures

A passionate writer of the non-fiction, historic taste, novel and surreal

Explore these written journeys with me!

~ Follow me on X: https://twitter.com/kalinabethany

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    keep writing you’re doing fine, 😊😊😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.