Poets logo

Ants on the Ground Ants in the Sky

In fields absent of light

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Ants on the Ground                
Ants in the Sky
Photo by Maksim Shutov on Unsplash

A star-studded sky inhabits my night

Like a million ants in front of my eyes

Shining so bright with the absence of light

Tall grass behind me, a perfect disguise

I fall back, and let it prickle my skin

Then my mind drifts to take height as the wind

It feels consistent, a comfortable flight

I let out some string, it goes like a kite

Then comes down and I can’t help but feel small

I want to feel big then I recall

When ants are working in

men don’t seem to notice ants at all

But ants never mind being alone,

and continue to work in worlds of their own

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.