Poets logo

Ants on a Log

Summertime Sweetness

By Cathy SchieffelinPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Ants on a Log
Photo by Prabir Kashyap on Unsplash

Balanced precariously as I tried to keep

My exuberant momentum from toppling it all…

Mom’s smiling eyes as she stuffed a napkin under my chin

“Careful with those. Take them outside. Share with your brother.”

Hoping Richie was too busy digging worms, I forced myself

Back to a slow trot, not wanting to draw attention

I aimed for the backyard picnic table

Ants on a log

Six logs to be shared

Three each

I wanted them all

Slender sticks of crisp celery

Slathered in crunchy Jiff peanut butter

Dotted with tiny red currants

Salty, peanut butter stuck to the roof of my mouth

Chomping cool, crisp celery

Juicy ants, making their way into my molars, bursting sweetness.

So much happening in my small mouth.

Fingers sticky, reaching for the next log

Keeping a furtive eye on Richie,

Wrangling wrigglers in the dirt

“Hey, you gotta share. Save me some…”

Busted

Grub gritty hands reaching for the plate.

“NOOOO!” Flinging the flimsy plate, fearing his filth.

“Moooommmm!!!! She won’t share,” he cried, mud-blackened tears melting down his face.

Picking up the fallen logs…

“Shhhh, Richie. It’s okay,” I mumbled, grabbing the hose.

“Wash your hands first. You can have the rest.”

Mother’s footsteps on the back porch.

“Everything okay out here?”

Sniffling and hiccupping, Richie nodded, wiping his snotty nose on his shirt.

Handing him a peanutty log, he gripped it and sank his teeth into its core.

Lip smacking and sucking gooey globs, he ate those logs - mite of earthworm and grime.

I envied him. His innocence. His love for sweets. His trust in me.

I enjoyed it as having eaten it myself.

Family
2

About the Creator

Cathy Schieffelin

Writing is breath for me. Travel and curiosity contribute to my daily writing life. I've had pieces published in Adanna Lit Jour. and Halfway Down the Stairs. My first novel, The Call, comes out in 2024. I live in New Orleans.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Archery Owl2 months ago

    This is beautiful and such familiar imagery. Thank you for sharing - with Richie and with us

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.