Poets logo

Another Poet in the World

The world doesn't need any more of us

By Leigh SchillingPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Another Poet in the World
Photo by Ayko Neil Kehl on Unsplash

The world doesn’t need another crappy poet

But here I am anyway.

I am standing at the edge of a chasm

Both physically

And metaphorically

Teetering

Leering

Inching

Not quite falling

Not quite not falling

I’m staring into oblivion and something blinked.

Do we actually have any control?

Or are we as humans

On a crash course

One way destination

With whatever all of this is

The world doesn’t need another crappy poet

But here I am

No one wants to think

No one wants to know.

Out of sight out of mind

But is it, really?

Blind to the ways of this world

I am both trying to figure it out and also

Seeing the truth behind it all

Is any of this even real?

No one wants to pay attention

‘If it doesn’t affect me personally, it doesn’t matter’

It does matter

No one is paying attention

Eyes wide open

Nobody saw a thing

Eyes wide shut is more like it.

The world doesn’t need another crappy poet

But I am here

Buried in distraction

Faces in phones

Television

Sex

Pointless jobs

Unfeeling relationships

No one feels fulfillment

Tell me,

When was the last time you felt truly happy?

When was the last time you felt content?

Joy?

Glee?

Don’t answer that

The world doesn’t need another crappy poet

But here I stand

Most people don’t want to think for themselves

Feed them information,

Fox news.

Tell them what to do

Where to work

What to wear

How to think

How to talk

‘Turn a blind eye and all will be alright’

Another cog in the machine

“Normal” is when you can unconsciously

Float through your days

Nothing really matters,

We’re all going to die anyway

The world doesn’t need another crappy poet

But I am still here

The last time you truly felt awake

Was the last time you took control

For yourself; of yourself

The last time you felt alive

Was the last time someone

Called you the fuck out

Wake up

Is all of this just a dream?

An acid trip we won’t remember?

Is any of this real?

Do you see what I see?

Can you see at all?

The world doesn’t need another crappy poet

But I’m not going anywhere

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Leigh Schilling

My name is Leigh

I am a conundrum

I write to understand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.