Poets logo

Another Nail

Letter to My Grampy

By Kaitlyn FordPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

On May 26, 2014, I lost my grandfather due to fluid in his lungs caused by cigarettes. Fast forward a few months to August 2014. In a desperate attempt to feel closer to my grandfather, I smoked my first cigarette. Fast forward four years...it’s 2018 and I haven’t put these things down yet. This is a poem I wrote to my grandfather, to explain why I became so addicted to the thing that took him away.

Another nail in the coffin

He laughs

And holds one out to me

Thoughts of you take over

I forget how to move

These nails are heavy

He complains

But he has no idea

They are so fucking heavy

I light it up

These nails took you

Too soon

And they’ll be the death of me

Their weight brings me higher

I’m closer to you

These goddamn fucking nails

Make clouds

That will carry me to your clouds

Thoughts of you take over

I need another nail

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Ford

A young Canadian girl with a lot to say. I want my voice to be heard.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.